Remove outdated and deleted links from Google search

Remove outdated page
Remove information from Google. Remove outdated, old & deleted links and images from Google search results with few simple steps listed below

If you want to remove outdated links, old contents, images or a page that was already deleted from a site from Google search results then there is a provision for doing so.

Follow the steps below:

  1. Go to the Remove outdated content page (login to your Google account if you aren’t)
  2. In the “Enter URL of outdated content” box, paste the URL of the page to be removed.
  3. Click Request removal.
  4. If you see the message “This content is gone,” click Request removal.

Make sure you enter the exact URL that you want to be removed from search results.

How to find URL

URL example

URL example (Source – Google)

The 1 marked in the above example is Title and 2 marked is URL. To get URL click on the title and copy the URL from the URL bar of browser and paste it in ‘Enter URL of outdated content box’ as said in steps above.

Read : How remove your own website link from Google search

After you enter Request Removal Google will analyse the existence of link and if the link is found deleted than a pop up box appears as shown in image below for confirmation. (If a link is still live than before Google can remove it from our search results, the site owner needs to take down or update the content)

Confirmation of removal

Confirmation of removal

Your request will be listed as pending. The site’s webmaster will receive a notice from Google for removal of an outdated page. And within few days your link will be removed.

Note :

  1. Even after the content is listed as removed it may take few days for it to disappear from search results.
  2. You can cancel the removal request or reinclude the removed content any time you wish.
  3. If you see the message “The page is still live on the web, ” but the page has already been removed, click Submit feedback and Google will look into the issue.
  4. Only deleted or died links will be removed by this method. If you see the message “We think the image or web page you’re trying to remove hasn’t been removed by the site owner,” follow the steps on the screen to give Google more information for further actions.

Nikhil Azza

Writer of this post and an engineer. Rest who cares!

Connect Nikhil:

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *